My Hair, My Way

Lye Vs No Lye Relaxers

Posted on: July 17, 2008

Which is better? Personally it’s a preference of the individual. Lye relaxers tend to be a little stronger than no lye. I’ve been using no lye relaxers majority of my life. Within the last few years, I decided to try a lye relaxer, TCB to be exact. Honestly I started doing it because I didn’t have to mix anything together and it can be sealed and used again if some relaxer is left after the application. I really didn’t notice a difference when using the two. But what some say, “Lye is better for the hair but harsh on the scalp and no lye is better for sensitive scalp and harsher on the hair”. For more info on Lye vs No Lye click here.

I’ve used my share of relaxers. My favorite no lye relaxer at this time is ORS Olive Oil relaxer. TCB lye relaxer is the only lye relaxer I’ve tried. My next relaxer, I’m going to use the TCB mixed with a little Shea butter oil.

 

The days are over of me relaxing every month. I now relax every 5-6 months. It helps me to retain growth and plus I like to see how much hair I’ve grown after getting a relaxer.

2 Responses to "Lye Vs No Lye Relaxers"

i ‘ve used tcb extra strenght relaxer for 13 years i find it perfect;when they are on promotions, i usually buy 24 cups at once;in the begin my mom used her left over revlon relaxer for me,it always give me sores,then i tried dark & lovely kit;i couldn’t sleep for days due to pain;so every body’s hair is not the same texture.

Yes Diana, everyone’s hair is different.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • lnicole2: that's not my video, but thanks I guess
  • LULU: SORRY BUT IN THE CREDITS U SPELLED "SPEICAL INSTEAD OF SPECIAL THATS ALL I HAVE 2 SAY SORRY! BUT CONGRATS ON UR SUFF U DID 2 UR HAIR
  • sam: very nice an quick

Categories

