My Hair, My Way

Relaxer-Strecthing

Posted on: August 30, 2008

If you look at my starting point in my “progress pictures” section, you will see how much growth I’ve retained since December 07 to now. Actually, my journey started before December, but I was embarrassed by the state of my uncared for hair, that I did not want to take pictures (I should’ve). When people ask me how did my hair grow so fast, I proudly say by stretching my relaxer. When I was younger I thought it was a rule of thumb to relax the hair every month. Soon as I got some new growth, I’d immediately put in a relaxer. I would often wonder why my hair never seem to grow pass my shoulders. From eye sight, my hair was healthy, full of body, and even. But little did I know I was actually weakening my hair.

The first time I stretched my relaxer it was for 5 months. After getting a relaxer, I was so surprised at the length of my hair and how much naturally thicker it was. My hair is currently sitting about an inch and a half below my shoulders. I’m 3 months (14 weeks) post relaxer. I have so much new growth, but I plan to relax at the end of October.

Word of advice: Stretching too long can cause breakage. Some people can stretch longer than others. It’s best to gradually add a week of stretching at a time if you don’t know how many weeks your hair can take.

Leave a Reply

  • lnicole2: that's not my video, but thanks I guess
  • LULU: SORRY BUT IN THE CREDITS U SPELLED "SPEICAL INSTEAD OF SPECIAL THATS ALL I HAVE 2 SAY SORRY! BUT CONGRATS ON UR SUFF U DID 2 UR HAIR
  • sam: very nice an quick

Categories

